Behold the powers of the universe

aka follow the signs

so a couple of weeks ago I was watching the beautiful and fabulous Alicia Keys perform this song on SNL

(note this is not the SNL version, but it’s just as good if not better and it is Thursday after all)

and I thought to myself, huh…

New York, concrete jungle where dreams are made of
There's nothing you can't do
Now you're in New York
These streets will make you feel brand new
Big lights will inspire you
Hear it for New York, New York, New York

that’s exactly how I feel when I’m in New York, I need to use these lyrics on a scrapbook page with one of my photos.

So I sat down and the page didn’t come together quite like I had in my head. The original plan was just to mist the title, but it didn’t work out so I thought I’d just keep going crazy and cover the whole sheet and use it for another project, once it dried I decided I liked it but wasn’t worthy of the lyrics.


as I created it I found myself remembering the great trips I’ve had there 3 in the last decade.  And counted myself blessed and lucky to have had those opportunities.

The next day I was checking my work gmail and a link to this NY Times article: 36 Hours in New York Again I thought that’s cool, added to my handy dandy google notebook for the next trip whenever that maybe…

Then the next day, I came home to find an email from my dear sister —

'have to go to NYC for certification class at the end of the month,
do you want to go with?'

Seriously! Tickets booked the next day and now I’m counting the days.

These are the moments I believe there is a greater power in the universe at play and I am thankful to be along for the ride.

6 Comments

Filed under All About Me, Scrapbook Layouts, Videos

6 responses to “Behold the powers of the universe

  1. how exciting. i’ve yet to go to NYC. i know you’ll have fun. i’d call it perfect timing. check out my friend v’s recent trip to NYC:
    http://caretakingcouple.wordpress.com/2010/01/15/more-ny-favorites/

    she has more but this one stood out most to me.

    safe travels and ENJOY.

  2. Good karma all around you!

  3. ok, i’m officially jealous. take tons of photos, OK?

  4. Love those lyrics! I may have to use them on a layout too! And yes, this is the best city in the world! I love living in NYC!

  5. Mary Kay

    Oooh, have fun! We haven’t been since a few months before Soph was born.

Leave a Reply

