This Woman’s Work

it’s hard

it’s emotional

it’s exhausting

it’s challenging

there are days when I want to give up

and then there are days like yesterday, when it’s all worth it

every second of frustration is erased with tears and cheers that come with watching 154 kids walk across the stage and receive their diplomas

for me and most of my friends high graduation was a given, I didn’t even have to try.

But these kids are different…

one saw her father murdered in front of her

one lost her best friends in a car accident that she survived

one who took 7 years to get through highschool

several in the foster system because parents are incarcerated

a few that have been incarcerated themselves

many who had been expelled from previous school

and most who had or at least thought of giving up

but they all made it…and we don’t make it easy, not only do they have to earn credits in the core they have to receive minimum scores on the same test community colleges use to decide what courses to place students in — the minimums are set so if they go on and 80% of them do to college they won’t have to waste time and money on remediation courses.

So cheers to you the Hope Online Graduating Class of 2010, we are so very proud of you.

PS…Let Summer begin!  One of my favorite things about summer “So You Think You Can Dance” I decided since I used the Kate Bush/Maxwell Song for my post title it’s fitting that I post the video of one of my all time favorite routines.

4 Comments

Filed under All About Me

4 responses to “This Woman’s Work

  1. This is beautiful, Christyn! What an inspiration these young people are!!! Oh that we all had that much determination and fortitude. Congrats to each of them – and to you. I so admire the work you do, girlie.

  2. kelly

    amazing! that dance routine is my favorite ever, very fitting for your story.

  3. I’ve always loved that Kate Bush song, didn’t realize they reworked it – very nice!
    Sounds like you have a very hard job Christyn – I can only imagine how you feel when you see your kids graduate. Enjoy your hard-earned summer!

  4. I so admire you for what you do. This is a beautiful post tht gives me hope for the future. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

