Rainy days and Mondays

don’t usually get me down, but the old Carpenter’s song sure does, hopefully it won’t be stuck in your head for too long.

I’ve been taking advantage of the rain and getting back into my creative groove, hopefully the blogging groove will follow.

I decided I needed a little extra help to get my mojo back and maybe expand my horizons, so I started following a tutorial series Christine Middlecamp has going on her blog called The Embellished Doily. The end result:  a shadowbox of 16 different mini collages based on tiny Martha Stewart doilies. If you’re not familiar with Christine’s work, check out her blog she is the queen of detail…teeny, tiny details…and lots of layers. It’s amazing the amount of detail she gets in such a tiny space.  Here are a couple quick pics of my version.

eventually each of these doilies will be filled up with scrappy goodness. I’ve also challenged myself to work mostly with supplies on hand — no rushing out to Archiver’s to buy the same product she uses — granted I have a wee bit of a stash myself so up until the next doily I have most of the same products. Go figure…

Here’s a good close-up to give you an idea about the amount of work and detail. the blue ruffle like background is made up of tiny squares in two shades of teal layered on top of each other.

I think this one is my favorite in the series so far, the main part of the doily is filled in with some of my favorite things

buttons, pearls and lots and lots of bling.  It hurt my heart just a bit to cover most of them up, but I’m happy with the end result.

4 Comments

Filed under altered projects, Paper Crafting

4 responses to “Rainy days and Mondays

  1. What a very cool project! Enjoy yourself as you finish it out!

  2. Love this project! I never think to add that many layers to anything.

  3. Love your doilies so far! Can’t wait to see it all finished!

  4. LOve your blog title.
    And these doilies! I’m just astounded really. You have taken all these tiny details and paid atttention to them and intricately cut them out. I love detail and you are doing a great job on these. Post a pic when it’s done.

Leave a Reply

